GA award winners named

June 8, 2010

Outstanding individuals from the areas of flight instruction, aviation maintenance, avionics, and safety will be recognized under the General Aviation Awards program for 2010.

The recipients are: Neil John Nederfield of Lafayette, N.J., Aviation Maintenance Technician of the Year; Kirk H. Peterson of Larimore, N.D., Avionics Technician of the Year; Jeffery R. Moss of Los Angeles, Calif., Certificated Flight Instructor of the Year; and, Thomas P. Turner of Rose Hill, Kan., FAA Safety Team Representative of the Year.

The FAA administrator will present the national awards during EAA AirVenture 2010 in Oshkosh, Wis. Included in the prize package for all four national winners is an all-expense-paid trip to Oshkosh, Wis., for the recipient and a guest to attend the awards presentation and other GA Awards activities.

The awards program is a cooperative effort between sponsoring organizations from the aviation industry and the FAA.

Al Marsh

Alton K. Marsh | AOPA Pilot Senior Editor, AOPA

AOPA Pilot Senior Editor Alton Marsh has been a pilot since 1970 and has an airline transport pilot certificate and instrument and multiengine flight instructor certificates, aerobatic training, and a commercial seaplane certificate.