AOPA Online Members Only - Aviation Subject Report - FAA "Wings" Program

FAA WINGS Pilot Proficiency Program

Table of Contents

Program changes

In the summer of 2007, the FAA introduced a new WINGS program. This program ran concurrently with the old program through the end of 2007. In January of 2008 only the new FAA WINGS program remained active.

*The FAA WINGS program detailed in AC 61-91H is the old program and is no longer active.

AOPA Air Safety Institute Program Applicability

FAA WINGS Resources

Old vs. New FAA WINGS

Twenty phases Three phases (Basic, Advanced, Master)
Certificate and lapel pin Printable certificate only at this time
Completion submitted on blue WINGS cards Completion submitted entirely online at

Flight Training
Three hours of flight training performing any tasks or maneuvers.

Ground Training
One hour of ground training/one ground seminar for each phase.

Flight Training (Basic phase)
Three flight courses (not hour requirements). Flight courses can be accomplished in a little or as much time as the pilot needs to perform specific maneuvers to practical test standards.

Ground Training
Three knowledge courses (not hour requirements).

See for Advanced and Master requirements.

Updated July 16, 2008