Maine clarifies tax policy for aircraft owners
Thanks to numerous pilots’ calls to the Maine Revenue Service, the department has clarified its use-tax policy on out-of-state aircraft.
Changes to the state’s tax law went into effect Jan. 1, 2007. During the first 12 months after purchase in a state without a sales tax, the current use tax will only be assessed on aircraft that are in the state for more than 20 days, excluding time for maintenance.
“It is encouraging that the state has provided this guidance; however, there are still some concerns about how the pre-2007 provisions of the law are being enforced,” said Greg Pecoraro, AOPA vice president of regional affairs. “We believe that the 20-day grace period is too short a time, and we’re working with the Maine Revenue Service, legislators, and the governor’s office to resolve these issues and appreciate their interest in working with us.”
AOPA still plans to meet with state officials in January.
December 20, 2007