Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

Shuttle launch prompts airspace restriction for 19 hours ThursdayShuttle launch prompts airspace restriction for 19 hours Thursday

<BR><SPAN class=twodeck>Pilots may want to relocate aircraft</SPAN><BR><SPAN class=twodeck>Pilots may want to relocate aircraft</SPAN>

Click for larger image
Click for larger image

The FAA has issued a new temporary flight restriction (TFR) for central Florida based on reasons of national security. The notice to airmen is effective from 1:45 a.m. to 8:45 p.m. November 29 and prohibits all Part 91 general aviation operations within 30 nautical miles of the shuttle launch pad (30 nm on the MLB VOR 004 degree radial) up to 18,000 feet. In addition, all Part 91 operations will be required to obtain a discrete transponder code and clearance from the appropriate ATC facility prior to entering the airspace within a 30- to 40-nm radius of the launch area. Pilots must also maintain continuous radio communications in this airspace. Because shuttle launches are frequently delayed, it is critical that pilots check the latest information from FSS during preflight or with ATC if in-flight before entering the airspace. The notam could be extended.

"While nobody likes airspace restrictions, we are appreciative that the FAA responded to our request and released this notam early enough to give pilots the opportunity to relocate aircraft or make alternate plans for flights through the eastern half of Florida," said AOPA President Phil Boyer.

Some 22 airports are affected by this notam. Those airports include:

Airports within the 30-nm Part 91 exclusionary airspace:

  • Blue Ridge (pvt)
  • Cedar Knoll (pvt)
  • Dunn Airpark, Titusville
  • Massy Ranch, Edgewater
  • Merritt Island, Cocoa Beach
  • Rockledge (pvt)
  • Space Coast Regional
  • Southerland (pvt)
  • Tradewinds (pvt)

Airports with Part 91 operational limitations, 30-40 nm

  • Daytona Beach
  • Gamebird Groves (pvt)
  • Lake Conway North (pvt)
  • Lake X (pvt)
  • Leffler (pvt)
  • Melbourne
  • New Symrna
  • Orlando Executive
  • Orlando International
  • Orlando Sanford
  • Spruce Creek (pvt)
  • Tedford (pvt)
  • Valkaria (pvt)

[Graphics courtesy of Jeppesen Sanderson, Inc.]

Related Articles