Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

Four to enter the Hall of Fame in 2009Four to enter the Hall of Fame in 2009

Actor Jimmy Stewart, who accepted the toughest of bombing assignments in World War II, astronaut Eileen Collins, former Cessna CEO Russ Meyer, and astronaut Ed White will be inducted into the National Aviation Hall of Fame on July 18.

Collins, the first female space shuttle commander, and Meyer will accept the award in person at an award dinner in Dayton. Meyer is chairman of the AOPA Air Safety Foundation’s Board of Visitors.

Stewart’s daughter and White’s son and daughter will accept the award on behalf of their parents. White died in a fire during a ground test of the first Apollo capsule.

In other Hall of Fame news, the 2009 Milton Caniff Spirit of Flight Award will go to all Apollo astronaut crews for their role in enabling man to walk on the moon.

Related Articles