Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

Boyer wins NAA Elder Statesman AwardBoyer wins NAA Elder Statesman Award

AOPA President Phil Boyer

For “his work as a passionate spokesman for and defender of general aviation,” AOPA President Phil Boyer has received a 2008 Wesley L. McDonald Elder Statesman of Aviation Award from the National Aeronautic Association. The award, which was presented at a Nov. 3 ceremony in Arlington, Va., was first established in 1954 to honor Americans, who, by their efforts over a period of years, have made contributions of significant value to aeronautics and have reflected credit upon America and themselves. Previous winners have included Eddie Rickenbacker, Jimmy Doolittle, Scott Crossfield, and Chuck Yeager.

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit, membership organization devoted to fostering America’s aerospace leadership and promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States.

Related Articles