Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

Austrian wins Red Bull pylon championshipAustrian wins Red Bull pylon championship

It might just as well be called the wild bull championship, or the crazy bull championship, because the Red Bull world series of racing combines low-level pylon flying with low-level aerobatics. Hannes Arch is the champion of this year’s series of Red Bull races that took place all over the world.

The final race was held at Perth, Australia, and like so many of the Red Bull races, it drew a crowd—200,000 people. In previous years, American pilots have dominated. Mike Mangold won in 2005 and 2007, while Kirby Chambliss was the champion in 2006.

The scoring works a lot like the NASCAR Sprint Chase for the Cup, in that standings change over a series of races. Once Arch landed, he taxied off the runway and created a series of doughnuts in the grass, smoke on and billowing, just like a NASCAR race winner.

This year Chambliss was third overall while Mangold took fourth place. Mike Goulian was 10th out of 12 pilots from around the world. The last four races of the 2008 season will be broadcast on the Fox Sports Network on Sunday evenings. The first of those has already appeared.

Alton Marsh

Alton K. Marsh

Freelance journalist
Alton K. Marsh is a former senior editor of AOPA Pilot and is now a freelance journalist specializing in aviation topics.

Related Articles