Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

WASP historian wins $20,000 awardWASP historian wins $20,000 award

Sarah Bryn Rickman will receive the $20,000 Combs Gates Award from the National Aviation Hall of Fame in Dayton, Ohio, for her trilogy based on women pilots of the ferry command.

Her first book of the series is Nancy Love and the WASP Ferry Pilots of World War II. The book focuses on the founder of the ferry command. The second book is called The Originals: The Women’s Auxiliary Ferrying Squadron of World War II. The third book is tentatively titled WASP in the Ferry Command.

Her award was presented by Amanda Wright-Lane, great grand-niece of Orville and Wilbur Wright. Aiding in the presentation during the NBAA convention in Orlando, Fla., Oct. 19 were astronaut Eugene Cernan, airshow legend Bob Hoover, Vietnam prisoner of war and fighter pilot Joe Kittinger, and Cessna Aircraft Chairman Emeritus Russ Meyer Jr.

Alton Marsh

Alton K. Marsh

Freelance journalist
Alton K. Marsh is a former senior editor of AOPA Pilot and is now a freelance journalist specializing in aviation topics.

Related Articles