AOPA will be closed on February 18 in observance of Presidents Day. We will reopen at 8:30 a.m. EST on February 19.
Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

National Aviation Hall of Fame names Class of 2018National Aviation Hall of Fame names Class of 2018

The National Aviation Hall of Fame has announced the names of four aviation and aerospace achievers elected for enshrinement in at the organization’s 2018 Enshrinement Dinner and Ceremony.

The National Aviation Hall of Fame Class of 2018: retired U.S. Marine Corps Reserve Colonel Walter Cunningham, retired U.S. Marine Corps General John R. “Jack” Dailey, the late William H. “Bill” Dana, and retired U.S. Air Force General Ronald R. Fogleman. Photos courtesy of the National Aviation Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2018 is a diverse group representing a broad range of enduring contributions to the advancement of flight and the manned exploration of space.

Retired U.S. Marine Corps Col. Walter Cunningham, Apollo 7 Lunar Module pilot, SKYLAB Chief, decorated Korean War veteran, fighter pilot, and physicist.

Retired U.S. Marine Corps Gen. John R. "Jack" Dailey, acting director of the National Air and Space Museum, former assistant Commandant of the Marine Corps, Chief of Staff, former Deputy Administrator of NASA, and decorated Vietnam War veteran.

The late William H. "Bill" Dana, a 40-year veteran of NASA, test pilot, aeronautical engineer who was the project pilot for the X-15, and pilot astronaut for the X-20.

Retired U.S. Air Force Gen. Ronald R. Fogleman, a U.S. Air Force Academy graduate, decorated Vietnam War veteran, Command Pilot and Parachutist, 15th Chief of Staff of the Air Force, and author of the Air Force Core Values.

Executive Board Member Dr. Kathy Hughes and Executive Director Amy Spowart revealed the names of the 2018 enshrinees at the fall awards dinner of the National Aeronautic Association in Washington, D.C. The date of the 2018 enshrinement event has not yet been announced.

The nonprofit National Aviation Hall of Fame was founded in Dayton, Ohio, in 1962 and chartered by Congress in 1964 with a mission to honor America’s aerospace legends to inspire future leaders, which it fulfills through a 17,000 square-foot public Learning Center featuring interactive exhibits, a youth education program, other public outreach programs, its annual enshrinement ceremony, and collaboration with like-minded organizations.

Since its founding, 237 men and women have been honored with National Aviation Hall of Fame enshrinement.

Topics: Awards and Records

Related Articles