Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

AOPA to honor Tucker, RokitaAOPA to honor Tucker, Rokita

AOPA will honor aerobatic pilot Sean D. Tucker and Rep. Todd Rokita (R-Ind.) for their contributions to general aviation during the second annual Bob Hoover Trophy Reception March 8. The event will take place at Ronald Reagan National Airport’s Historic Terminal A Lobby in Arlington, Virginia.

AOPA will honor Rep. Todd Rokita (R-Ind.), left, and aerobatic pilot Sean D. Tucker for contributions to general aviation at the second annual Bob Hoover Trophy Reception March 8.

Tucker was chosen to receive the 2017 AOPA R.A. “Bob” Hoover Trophy by unanimous agreement of the selection committee, and the wish of the late Mr. Hoover himself. Tucker is being honored for demonstrating the airmanship, leadership, and passion for aviation that Hoover exhibited during his distinguished career and life as a pilot and aviation advocate. Hoover died Oct. 25, 2016, at the age of 94 and was the first recipient of the Hoover Trophy.

The Hartranft Award will be presented to Rokita for his leadership and support of GA. The Hartranft Award is given annually to appointed or elected officials for contributions in advancing GA. Last year, Sens. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.) and Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) were honored.

Joe Kildea

Joe Kildea

AOPA Senior Director of Communications
Joe is a student pilot and his first solo flight was at AOPA’s home airport in Frederick, Maryland. Before joining AOPA in 2015, he worked for numerous political campaigns, news organizations, and the White House Press Office.
Topics: Awards and Records, Pilots

Related Articles