Get extra lift from AOPA. Start your free membership trial today! Click here

AOPA awards primary, advanced flight training scholarships

23 individuals get a boost in aviation

As part of AOPA’s You Can Fly program to get more pilots flying and keep them flying, 23 scholarships have been awarded to student pilots and already certificated pilots to continue their primary and advanced flight training.

AOPA file photo by David Tulis.

This brings the number of scholarships given through the AOPA Foundation in a single year to an all-time high of 123, totaling more than $1 million. On June 17, AOPA announced that 80 high school students and 20 teachers each earned $10,000 scholarships funded through a generous grant from the Ray Foundation to the AOPA Foundation.

“We are excited to offer scholarships to help members wherever they are in their training,” said Elizabeth Tennyson, executive director of AOPA’s You Can Fly program.

The primary and advanced flight training scholarships were available to AOPA members. The primary scholarships, ranging from $2,500 to $7,000, can be applied toward private, sport, or recreational pilot certificates. The advanced rating scholarships, ranging from $3,000 to $10,000, allow AOPA members to apply the funds toward their instrument rating or commercial, flight instructor, flight instructor-instrument, or multiengine instructor certificates. This is the second year AOPA has offered advanced rating scholarships. The scholarships are made possible by donations to the AOPA Foundation, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.

Congratulations to this year’s scholarship recipients!

AOPA Primary Flight Training Scholarship winners

  • Chloe Billman
  • Michael Brickey
  • Jessica Citrin
  • Melody Cosgrove
  • Emily Hogenson
  • Rachel Jones
  • Christopher Keys
  • Summerleigh Martin
  • Sophie Perrella
  • Hannah Sadowski
  • Aaron Mitzel
  • Edward Seidman
  • Mason Spain
  • Kyle Spawn
  • Anders Walter

AOPA Advanced Rating Scholarship winners

  • Jaydon Ayache
  • Nobi Buntin
  • Aurthur Chu
  • Alexandra Ferullo
  • Sonia Jimenez
  • Jack Maechtle
  • Mindy Nye
  • Kyle Orangio
Alyssa J. Miller
Alyssa J. Cobb
The former senior director of digital media, Alyssa J. Cobb was on the AOPA staff from 2004 until 2023. She is a flight instructor, and loves flying her Cessna 170B with her husband and two children. Alyssa also hosts the weekly Fly with AOPA show on the AOPA Pilot Video YouTube channel.
Topics: You Can Fly, AOPA, AOPA Foundation

Related Articles