Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

Change your clocks this weekendChange your clocks this weekend

<BR><SPAN class=twodeck>(Except Zulu time, of course)</SPAN><BR><SPAN class=twodeck>(Except Zulu time, of course)</SPAN>

Time changes to daylight-saving time Sunday morning at 0200 local, except in the Eastern time zone portion of Indiana, Arizona (except for the Navajo Nation), and Hawaii. Since the FAA uses Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) or "Zulu" time for ATC operations, flight plans, and weather reports, the change to daylight time also changes the conversion formula from local to Zulu time (and gives us an extra hour of afternoon daylight flying time.)

The Eastern time zone becomes Zulu minus 4 hours, Central Zulu minus 5, Mountain Zulu minus 6, Pacific Zulu minus 7, and Alaska Zulu minus 8.

The Eastern portion of Indiana does not change time and "falls back" into the Central time zone, Zulu minus 5. Arizona "shifts" to Pacific Daylight Time, or Zulu minus 7 hours. Hawaii remains Zulu minus 10 hours.


Related Articles