Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

Former Cessna head leads ASF Board of VisitorsFormer Cessna head leads ASF Board of Visitors

Former Cessna head leads ASF Board of Visitors

By AOPA ePublishing staff

Hinson, Sturgell, and MeyerDavid R. Hinson, former FAA administrator; Robert A. Sturgell, acting FAA administrator; and Russell W. Meyer, Cessna chairman emeritus.

Cessna Chairman Emeritus Russell W. Meyer is the new chairman of the AOPA Air Safety Foundation’s Board of Visitors, a panel that helps grow and promote the foundation’s safety mission.

On May 1, Meyer accepted the gavel from departing chair and former FAA administrator David R. Hinson.

“When [AOPA President] Phil Boyer asked me to chair the Board of Visitors he said it would be for two years,” Hinson said at the transition ceremony. “Now, 11 years later, I am retiring, which says a lot about the Air Safety Foundation and this group. It has been my privilege to work with you and witness the phenomenal growth and quality of ASF programs and outreach.”

Continuing that growth and seeking opportunities to reach even more pilots will be part of Meyer’s mission as well.

“Russ’s selection will bring new opportunities to expand visibility of ASF to the industry and GA pilots,” said AOPA Air Safety Foundation Executive Director Bruce Landsberg. “Up until a few years ago ASF was one of the better kept secrets for helping new and experienced pilots in safety education. That has changed with the advent of the Internet and the strong increase in funding.”

That additional funding has allowed the foundation to produce more than 20 online courses while continuing to offer more than 200 free safety seminars open to all pilots on a national basis.

The AOPA Air Safety Foundation relies on tax-deductible contributions from pilots like you to fund its education programs and improve general aviation safety. To donate, visit the foundation’s Web site.

March 22, 2012

Related Articles