Get extra lift from AOPA. Start your free membership trial today! Click here

Enshrinees chosen for Hall of Fame

The National Aviation Hall of Fame in Dayton will enshrine four new members in July 2011 who made significant contributions in aviation. They will be enshrined during a July 16 ceremony in Dayton.

These are the four enshrinees: The late Capt. Iven Carl Kincheloe, Jr., of the U.S. Air Force, was a Korean War double ace and record-setting jet-age test pilot hailed as “the first man in space.” Col. Charles Edward McGee of the U.S. Air Force was a Tuskegee Airman and fighter pilot with 409 combat missions flown in three wars. S. Harry Robertson was a pilot, engineer, entrepreneur, and aviation safety pioneer recognized and is recognized as “the father of the crashworthy fuel system.” The late Gen. Thomas D. White of the U.S. Air Force was a former chief of staff and a key Cold War architect of integrating space technology into modern defense systems.

The 2011 Milton Caniff “Spirit of Flight” Award recipient will be the Blue Angels, the U.S. Navy’s Flight Demonstration Squadron, in recognition of the group’s 65-year history of serving as positive role models and goodwill ambassadors for the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps. More than 460 million fans have witnessed the Blue Angels’ aerial performances since the group was formed in 1946.

Alton Marsh
Alton K. Marsh
Freelance journalist
Alton K. Marsh is a former senior editor of AOPA Pilot and is now a freelance journalist specializing in aviation topics.

Related Articles