Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

2013 General Aviation Award recipients named2013 General Aviation Award recipients named

The General Aviation Awards program has announced the recipients of the 2013 National General Aviation Awards. AOPA is a sponsor of the awards program, a joint FAA/industry effort to recognize aviation professionals who have made a significant contribution to the fields of flight instruction, aviation maintenance, avionics, and safety.

William T. Fifles of Honolulu was named Aviation Maintenance Technician of the Year. He is FAA-certificated as an airframe and powerplant mechanic with inspection authorization, and is a private pilot. Fifles also is a Hawaii state airport safety inspector for ramp vehicles and equipment.

The avionics technician of the year is Bruce Allan Lundquist of Willis, Mich., an avionics systems specialist at Pentastar Aviation at Oakland County International Airport in Pontiac, Mich.

The certificated flight instructor of the year is Dean Wesley Eichholz of Soldotna, Alaska. He is an independent flight instructor, designated pilot examiner, and former Naval aviator, and serves as AOPA's Airport Support Network volunteer for Soldotna.

Mark Edward Madden of Anchorage, Alaska, was named FAA Safety Team representative of the year. He is a professor of aviation technology in the Aviation Technology Division of the University of Alaska who has earned Master CFI accreditation three times.

FAA Administrator Michel Huerta will present the recipients with their awards in July during EAA AirVenture 2013 in Oshkosh, Wis.

Dan Namowitz

Dan Namowitz

Associate Editor Web
Associate Editor Web Dan Namowitz has been writing for AOPA in a variety of capacities since 1991. He has been a flight instructor since 1990 and is a 30-year AOPA member.
Topics: Aviation Industry, EAA AirVenture, Events

Related Articles