Get extra lift from AOPA. Start your free membership trial today! Click here

AOPA offers roundup of scholarships, winners

Aviation organizations recognize the importance of investing in the future of aviation by offering scholarships. Each month, AOPA covers new scholarships that are open to applicants and highlights success stories of past scholarship winners. Share these opportunities with those you know who are in training for an aviation-related field.

Scholarship opportunities

Air Traffic Control Association Scholarships are awarded to help support the financial needs of deserving students who have chosen to seek higher education in the science of air traffic control and other aviation disciplines, as well as children of air traffic control specialists. Scholarships are awarded in four categories: Gabriel A. Hartl Scholarship for students enrolled half- to full-time in a two- to four-year air traffic control program at an institution approved and/or licensed by FAA; Lawrence C. Fortier Memorial Scholarship, for students enrolled half- to full-time in a program leading to a bachelor's degree or higher in an aviation-related course of study; Full-Time Employee Student Scholarship, for those enrolled in advanced study programs to improve their skills in air traffic control or an aviation discipline; and Buckingham Memorial Scholarship, for U.S. citizen children of air traffic control specialists enrolled half- to full-time in a program leading to a bachelor's degree or higher. The deadline to apply is May 1.

Scholarship winners

The National Aircraft Resale Association’s (NARA) new Business Aviation Scholarship has given out more than $16,000 to five students. The scholarships were created to help college students pursuing business aviation careers in the areas of corporate aircraft sales, marketing, finance, and legal.

The Upwind Summer Scholarship Program has chosen Julie Korsmeyer and Stephen Schick, both of San Mateo, Calif., to receive ground school starting this spring and flight training during the summer. The program was created in partnership with San Carlos Flight Center and was designed to promote piloting and general aviation, and to cultivate interest in aviation as a career by choosing one or more high school students and providing them with everything they need to earn a private pilot certificate.

The National Business Aviation Association has chosen Gregory Frister, Brad Kitchen, and Kedric Elmore to receive its 2014 International Operators Committee Scholarship. Frister, a senior at Lewis University with a private pilot certificate and instrument rating, will receive $5,000. Kitchen, an Embraer Brasilia first officer, plans to pursue a master’s degree at Delta State University with his $2,500 scholarship. Elmore, a senior at Kansas State University, Salina, working on a degree as a professional pilot, will use his $2,500 toward his flight training. The winners were honored at NBAA’s International Operators Conference in March.

The Greater Boston EAA Chapter 106 has given away scholarships for three students to attend the eight-day EAA Advanced Air Academy July 22 through 30 in Oshkosh, Wis., during AirVenture. The scholarship covers tuition and airfare to Oshkosh. The winners are Samuel Ashton of Leominster, Mass.; Benjamin Lillie of  Fitchburg, Mass.; and Shelby Scorse of Lunenburg, Mass.

Kennedy Davenport, a junior at Kendrick High School in Columbus, Ga., has been awarded a full scholarship by EAA Chapter 677 to attend the EAA Advanced Air Academy. Davenport became the first Young Eagle, male or female, in the chapter's history to complete online ground school and take her first flight lesson in the EAA Flight Plan for Young Eagles.

The Aircraft Electronics Association's Educational Foundation awarded 22 individuals with scholarships worth more than $125,000 for the 2014-15 academic year at its recent annual convention.

Scholarship roundup

Deadlines are quickly approaching for these scholarships.

April 18—General Aviation Manufacturers Association's two awards: Edward W. Stimpson Aviation Excellence Award and Dr. Harold S. Wood Award for Excellence.

June 15—LadiesLoveTaildraggers tailwheel endorsement scholarship.

AOPA ePublishing staff
AOPA ePublishing Staff editors are experienced pilots, flight instructors, and aircraft owners who have a passion for bringing you the latest news and AOPA announcements.
Topics: Training and Safety, Training and Safety, Scholarship

Related Articles