Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

You Can Fly Sweepstakes: Frequently asked questionsYou Can Fly Sweepstakes: Frequently asked questions

Who picks the grand prize winner?

Who was eligible to enter?

How could someone enter?

How was the grand prize winner picked?

How were the winners of the other 151 prizes picked, and how were they notified?

How do I increase my chances of winning the new sweepstakes?

Who picks the grand prize winner?

The grand prize winner of the AOPA You Can Fly Sweepstakes is chosen by Ventura Associates International LLC, an independent judging organization AOPA has retained to administer the sweepstakes.

Who was eligible to enter?

The eligibility requirements are simple and are outlined in the official rules. The AOPA You Can Fly Sweepstakes was open to legal residents of the 50 United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Canada (excluding the province of Quebec), who are 19 years of age or older (or at least the age of majority mandated by the entrant’s jurisdiction of residence) as of the date of entry. The winner of the aircraft must also be an FAA certificated student, recreational, sport, private, commercial, or airline transport pilot as of Dec. 31, 2015.

How could someone enter?

The official rules provided several ways to enter the sweepstakes. For example, any eligible individual could enter by printing, completing, and submitting a “mail-in entry” form provided it was postmarked by Dec. 31, 2015, and received within seven days thereafter. Also, an “automatic entry” is awarded to an individual who is an AOPA member on Dec. 31, 2015. The 2017 sweepstakes includes new methods to enter.

How was the grand prize winner picked?

The sweepstakes winner was selected by a random drawing conducted by Ventura Associates International LLC from all eligible entries received during the entry period which began at 9 a.m. Eastern Time Dec. 1, 2014, and ran until 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time Dec. 31, 2015.

How were the winners of the other 151 prizes picked, and how were they notified?

The other winners were selected by the same independent judging organization through the same random drawing process, and all have been notified in writing. The second-place winner will receive a $6,500-value Breitling watch. Aviation-oriented prizes were awarded to 10 third-place winners ($500 each in value), 15 fourth-place winners ($100 each in value), and 25 fifth-place winners ($50 each in value); 100 sixth-place winners were awarded an AOPA-branded cap valued at $12 each.

How do I increase my chances of winning the new sweepstakes?

The official rules specify all of the methods of entry and can be viewed by visiting As always, there is no requirement for anyone to make a purchase or make a contribution to enter or win the AOPA sweepstakes.

Topics: Sweepstakes, AOPA, Aviation Industry

Related Articles