Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

Max Karant Awards for Excellence in Aviation CoverageMax Karant Awards for Excellence in Aviation Coverage

Max Karant Awards for Excellence in Aviation Coverage

Each year, the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association honors fair, accurate, and insightful coverage of general aviation issues by non-trade news media with the Max Karant Journalism Award.

Eligible stories are published or broadcast for public consumption, and are judged by AOPA media professionals.

The Karant Awards memorialize former newsman and founder/editor of AOPA Pilot magazine, Max Karant.

Winners and Honorable Mentions

In 2001, AOPA honored longtime aviation journalist Dave Sclair, retired publisher of the national General Aviation News newspaper, with its AOPA's 2001 Max Karant Award for Lifetime Excellence in Aviation Coverage.

In 1999, AOPA honored longtime aviation correspondent and columnist Jack Elliott of The Newark Star-Ledger with its Max Karant Journalism Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Previous winners have included both national and local journalists such as ABC's Hugh Downs, Bryce Matteson and Doug Schrag of KWCH-TV in Wichita, and Lisa Scagliotti of the Anchorage (Alaska) Daily News.

Updated Tuesday, November 13, 2007 11:32:34 AM

Topics: Aviation Industry, Movies and Television

Related Articles