Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

NASA issues new shuttle restrictionsNASA issues new shuttle restrictions

<BR><SPAN class=twodeck>Stricter rules increase impact on pilots in 'outer ring'</SPAN><BR><SPAN class=twodeck>Stricter rules increase impact on pilots in 'outer ring'</SPAN>

Click for larger image

Effective Thursday, May 30, from 1330 (local) through 2300 (local), the FAA is imposing temporary flight restrictions for the space shuttle launch at Cape Canaveral, Florida. The notam establishes a 30-nm-radius TFR "no fly" zone around the launch pad from the surface to FL180, with a less restrictive area between 30 and 40 nm. However, the big change for this launch is that now operations within the 30-40 nm segment will only be permitted for the purposes of takeoff or landing, and only with a prior ATC clearance and a transponder code. Pilots must also maintain continuous radio communications while operating within TFR airspace. These restrictions will impact operations at 10 public-use airports, including: New Smyrna Beach (EVB), Massey (X50), Sanford (SFB), Orlando Executive (ORL), Daytona Beach International (DAB), Merritt Island (COI), Space Coast Regional (TIX), Dunn (X21), Orlando International (MCO), and Melbourne International (MLB).

Within the 30-nm "no-fly" ring, as for previous launches, no Part 91 general aviation and no VFR operations are permitted.

Pilots are advised to contact St. Petersburg Flight Service Station prior to conducting flights in proximity to this TFR.


Related Articles