AOPA will be closed on February 18 in observance of Presidents Day. We will reopen at 8:30 a.m. EST on February 19.
Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

Members of Congress congratulate AOPA on 70 years of serving GAMembers of Congress congratulate AOPA on 70 years of serving GA

Rep. Charles Dent (R.-Pa.) introduced a resolution in the House of Representatives on May 21 congratulating AOPA for celebrating its seventieth anniversary and commending the association for its works on behalf of general aviation.

“As a member of the Transportation & Infrastructure and Homeland Security Committees, I have greatly enjoyed working with AOPA to advance general aviation in the United States,” said Dent, who sponsored the bill along with 16 of his colleagues. “AOPA and its many members should be very proud of the contributions they’ve made to our aviation system over the last 70 years. I hope this resolution will illustrate Congress’s appreciation for all AOPA has done throughout its rich history.”

The resolution, H.Res. 472 recognizes AOPA’s contribution to aviation safety through the AOPA Air Safety Foundation; its important role in revitalizing the American GA manufacturing industry; and its early support for civilian use of satellite-based navigation, which will be a key component of the NextGen air traffic control system.

As ranking member of the transportation security and infrastructure protection subcommittee of the Homeland Security Committee and a member of the aviation subcommittee of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, Dent deals with many aviation issues that pass through Congress.

“If AOPA has been successful over the past 70 years, it is because of our members,” said AOPA President Craig Fuller. “But also because of the strong working relationship we have forged with Congress over the years. We will need both as we look forward to the next 70 years of advocating on behalf of general aviation.”

Resolution co-sponsors

Rep. Shelley Berkley (D-Nev.)
Rep. Henry E. Brown Jr. (R-S.C.)
Rep. Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.)
Rep. Christopher P. Carney (D-Pa.)
Rep. Howard Coble (R-N.C.)
Rep. Charles W. Dent (R-Pa.)
Rep. Vernon J. Ehlers (R-Mich.)
Rep. Jim Gerlach (R-Pa.)
Rep. Sam Graves (R-Mo.)
Rep. Frank A. LoBiondo (R-N.J.)
Rep. Connie Mack (R-Fla.)
Rep. Collin C. Peterson (D-Minn.)
Rep. Thomas E. Petri (R-Wis.)
Rep. Todd Russell Platts (R-Pa.)
Rep. John T. Salazar (D-Colo.)
Rep. Lynn A. Westmoreland (R-Ga.)
Rep. Don Young (R-Alaska)

Send your member of Congress a note of thanks for recognizing your association’s efforts to protect GA. Get your representative's contact information.

Topics: Advocacy

Related Articles