AOPA will be closing at 2:30pm on Friday, May 24th and will also be closed on Monday, May 27th. We will reopen Tuesday morning, May 28th th at 8:30am ET.
Get extra lift from AOPA. Start your free membership trial today! Click here

Roadmap for SAFE outlined

“We’ve gone from our infancy to adolescence.” That was the message from the Society of Aviation and Flight Educators Director Doug Stewart at the group’s annual dinner on July 26 at EAA AirVenture in Oshkosh, Wis.

Stewart detailed the group’s future plans that came about as part of a strategic planning exercise undertaken this year. The three-year plan calls for a leadership succession plan and an increase in membership, among other things. Stewart said a membership committee was formed in response to the initiative.

The group also awarded the Founder’s Award, and two service awards during the event. James Goodwin won the Founder’s Award for his donation of a charity ride in a P-51 in support of SAFE. Alan Davis and Sherry Rossiter won the service awards for their volunteer efforts for the group.

Guests included many industry and government representatives, including the FAA’s Mel Cintron and NTSB member Dr. Earl Weener, both of whom made remarks.

Ian J. Twombly
Ian J. Twombly
Ian J. Twombly is senior content producer for AOPA Media.
Topics: EAA AirVenture, Events, Aviation Industry

Related Articles