Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

Nominations open for Crossfield Aerospace Education awardNominations open for Crossfield Aerospace Education award

Know an outstanding teacher who takes an innovative approach to aerospace education? Nominate him or her for the twenty-seventh annual A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year competition.

The event awards a $5,000 cash stipend and is open to current classroom teachers in grades kindergarten through 12. Entrants will be judged on their effectiveness, creativity, and ability to maintain high standards for students and themselves with aerospace as part of the core subject matter. The annual competition is sponsored by the National Aviation Hall of Fame. It is named in honor of the naval aviator, aerospace engineer, and test pilot who was the first man to successfully fly at speeds above Mach 2 and Mach 3. Crossfield was inducted into the National Aviation Hall of Fame in 1983.

The 2012 recipient was Jim McCarter of Kokomo, Ind., whose elementary school classroom is a mock space shuttle. Children who “want to be in your classroom are going to show up, have good behavior, and are going to learn something,” he said.

The deadline for nominations is June 1. For more information and submission forms, see the website or call 888/383-1903, extension 11. The recipient must be able to attend the NAHF’s fifty-first annual enshrinement ceremony on Oct. 4 in Dayton, Ohio.

Jill W. Tallman

Jill W. Tallman

AOPA Technical Editor
AOPA Technical Editor Jill W. Tallman is an instrument-rated private pilot who owns a Piper Cherokee 140.
Topics: Aviation Industry

Related Articles