Get extra lift from AOPA. Start your free membership trial today! Click here

TFR to suspend flights at Maryland’s ‘DC-3’ airports

AOPA is notifying pilots that operations at the so-called “DC-3 airports” in Maryland will be suspended Aug. 4 through 7 under a temporary flight restriction that will be in effect in Washington, D.C.’s airspace.

The TFR, ordered in conjunction with the three-day U.S. Africa Leaders Summit, will prohibit flight operations at College Park AirportPotomac Airfield  in Friendly, Maryland, and Washington-Executive-Hyde Field Airport in Clinton, Maryland, from 7 a.m. on Aug. 4 to 12 p.m. Aug. 7, said Tom Zecha, AOPA manager of aviation security.

Also prohibited during the TFR’s active period will be VFR traffic pattern operations at airports in the Washington, D.C., Special Flight Rules Area. (SFRA). Other operations within the SFRA will not be affected, he said.

Zecha added that it is imperative for pilots operating to and from Leesburg (Virginia) Executive Airport to be sure they are adhering to the current procedures published for that airport. “Although a notice to airmen simplifying Leesburg’s procedures by consolidating to the 1226 transponder code for ingress and egress operations took effect on June 15, the FAA recently informed AOPA that several flights inbound to Leesburg have used an old squawk code that is now obsolete,” Zecha said.

Pilots are urged to check notams frequently before flight for updates and changes to published procedures or effective times of the TFR.

AOPA will continue to work with government agencies responsible for airspace security to assure greater general aviation access to airspace and airports while TFRs are in effect, Zecha said.

Dan Namowitz

Dan Namowitz

Dan Namowitz has been writing for AOPA in a variety of capacities since 1991. He has been a flight instructor since 1990 and is a 35-year AOPA member.
Topics: Security, Flight Planning, Advocacy

Related Articles