Already a member? Please login below for an enhanced experience. Not a member? Join today

Nominate a teacher for Crossfield Aerospace Education awardNominate a teacher for Crossfield Aerospace Education award

The National Aviation Hall of Fame in Dayton, Ohio, is looking for outstanding aerospace educators for the thirtieth annual A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year Award.

The award is open to current classroom teachers in grades kindergarten through twelve. A review committee of aerospace industry and education professionals will examine nominations for a teacher’s effectiveness, creativity, and ability to maintain high standards for their students and themselves. Aerospace must be the core subject matter of their curricula.

The Crossfield Aerospace Educator of the Year will receive the award on Oct. 1 at the National Aviation Hall of Fame annual enshrinement dinner. The winning teacher receives a $5,000 cash stipend and an all-expenses-paid trip for two to Dayton to accept the award.

The deadline to apply is July 1. For award criteria, downloadable application forms, and more information, see the website.

The award is named for A. Scott Crossfield, the first man to successfully fly at speeds above Mach 2 and Mach 3, and the first man to fly the North American X-15.

Jill W. Tallman

Jill W. Tallman

AOPA Technical Editor
AOPA Technical Editor Jill W. Tallman is an instrument-rated private pilot who owns a Piper Cherokee 140.
Topics: Aviation Industry

Related Articles